.

Immunization Deadline Looming

Proof must be provided to the school nurse

PVSD's Jessica Lester provided the following information:

The Perkiomen Valley School District and the Pennsylvania Department of Health are reminding parents and caregivers of the upcoming May 1, 2012, deadline to ensure that school-aged children have had all required immunizations.

When the 2011-12 school year began, families were given an eight-month provisional period to bring students up-to-date, and that period is now coming to a close. New immunization regulations took effect last August and require children in all grades to receive the immunizations listed:

  • 4 doses of tetanus*

(1 dose on or after the fourth birthday)

  • 4 doses of diphtheria*

(1 dose on or after the fourth birthday)

  • 3 doses of polio
  • 2 doses of measles**
  • 2 doses of mumps**
  • 1 dose of rubella (German measles)**
  • 3 doses of hepatitis B
  • 2 doses of varicella (chickenpox) vaccine or history of disease

*Usually given as DTP or DTaP or DT or Td

**Usually given as MMR

Children attending seventh grade need the following:

  • 1 dose of tetanus, diphtheria, acellular pertussis (Tdap) (if five years have elapsed since the last tetanus immunization)
  • 1 dose meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV)

If they have not already done so, parents or caregivers must provide proof of these immunizations to a school nurse by May 1. If the school does not have a record of these immunizations for a student, he/she may be excluded from school per state law.

For a list of clinics or sites providing low or no-cost immunizations, please visit the Montgomery County Health Department website.

For questions or concerns, PV parents/caregivers are also welcome to visit the district website or contact their school nurses for more information:

o   Judith Morgitan, High School – 610-489-1230 – jmorgitan@pvsd.org

o   Faye Smith, Middle School East – 610-489-8851 – fsmith@pvsd.org

o   Rosemary Kelley, Middle School West – 484-977-7210 – rokelley@pvsd.org

o   Debra Barron, Evergreen – 610-409-9751 – dbarron@pvsd.org

o   Beth Hallowell, Schwenksville – 484-961-7064 – bhallowell@pvsd.org

o   Meg Lewis, Skippack – 610-409-6060 – mlewis@pvsd.org

o   Theresa Espersen, South – 610-489-2991 – tespersen@pvsd.org

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »